5 Predictions for the New England Patriots Offseason

Patriots: ESPN is a joke for even airing this take on Bill Belichick
Musket Fire

The New England Patriots are currently taking a beating with Tom Brady set to appear in his record 10th Super Bowl. The Patriots are coming off a 7-9 season that was unwatchable for most of the year. The team needs a massive rebuild this offseason, and $64 million in cap space is going to help fix this. With that, I thought I would give you my five predictions for the Patriots offseason.

  1. The Patriots Sign Allen Robinson: I think this is the offseason where Bill Belichick finally grabs a top tier offensive talent. The Patriots are in desperate need of a top tier wide receiver after posting the 25th ranked offense last season. The Patriots leading receiver Jakobi Myers ranked 49th in receiving yards and 53rd in receptions, which shows why they need Allen Robinson. I think Robinson is the best receiver on the market this year, and I expect the Patriots to back up the brinks truck for him. This season Robinson played 16 games, posting 102 receptions for 1250 yards and 6 touchdowns. Robinson’s market value is 4 years/$80 million, which is a number I think the Patriots will go for. Robinson is 27 years old and entering the prime of his career, so I think Belichick knows he can transform this offense from day one. 
  2. Jimmy Garoppolo Will Be the Patriots Starting Quarterback Week 1: I think Jimmy Garoppolo is the Patriots target at quarterback this year, and he will be their guy moving forward. Garoppolo looks like he is on his way out with the 49ers and I don’t buy the report they are “fine” with him. I expect the Patriots to either trade a 3rd or 4th rounder for him this offseason, or they will grab him if he gets cut. I think he is the best option for them considering their situation. 
  3. The Patriots Trade Stephon Gilmore On Draft Night, Sign JC Jackson to Extension: I think the Patriots are going to trade star cornerback Stephon Gilmore on draft night. Draft night is when players are overvalued, and I think the Patriots will look to capitalize on this. I think Gilmore has reached the end of his Patriots tenure because he is 30 years old and entering the final year of his contract. The Patriots have shown no signs of wanting to extend Gilmore, so I think they are ready to move on. I think the Patriots will get a second-round pick for Gilmore, which they could use to trade up in the draft. This will lead to the Patriots giving JC Jackson a deserved extension. Jackson has been one of the best corners in football since entering the NFL in 2018 and the time has come for his extension. The Patriots will lock him up as the number one corner for the future. 
  4. The Patriots Are Drafting Micah Parsons At 15: I think the Patriots are going to address their front seven problems in the first round this year by drafting Micah Parsons. Parsons is a top 5 talent who has slipped in mocks because he opted out of the 2020 season. Parsons is a versatile defender who can blitz inside or outside. The Patriots have to go front seven because there is uncertainty at this spot with the likely departures of Lawrence Guy and Donta Hightower. Parsons gives the Patriots an elite talent who can play right away. 
  5. The Patriots Trade for J.J. Watt: The Patriots are going to take a risk and trade for J.J. Watt this offseason. Watt, 31, is set to make $17.5 million next season, which is a huge number, but I think he will restructure for the Patriots. Watt has been heavily praised by Belichick in recent years, and I think this will help Belichick land him. Watt will beef up the Patriots defensive line and he will make an immediate impact in the running game. I think the Patriots would be willing to offer a second-round pick or a third/player to get this deal done. 

The time is now for the Patriots to make some splashes because their future is in jeopardy. I would argue that this is the most important offseason in franchise history and that this could set the stage for the next 5-7 years. Hopefully, Belichick can make some of these moves and put the Patriots on a path to success in 2021.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started